GBodyCentral.com  
Old 02-11-2013, 08:39 AM
camino in progress

Default gas gauge help

hope this is the right spot for this? anyway as u guys know im eliminating my gauge cluster and putting in manual oil&water temp gauges,ive already ordered those...but my question is since im eliminating the gauge cluster can u help me figure out what gas gauge to buy and how to hook it up to the plug wiring that the cluster plugged into? this is what im looking at on ebay would this work and just wire it into the wires that lead to the cluster plug? or how would i do that? heres the ebay link and thnx for any and all assistance thnx troy

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Speedhut-2-1...d3d335&vxp=mtr

p.s remember im new to this so be nice :)

Last edited by beachbumtroy; 02-11-2013 at 04:48 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 02-11-2013, 04:47 PM
camino in progress

Default gas gauge help

boy u know im in trouble if i got all these peekers and no help yet
Old 02-11-2013, 05:16 PM
Hot Rodder

gm gauge senders from the years 1966 to 1997 have a reading between 0 -90 ohms.you can use any gauge you want as long as it is ohm compatible.most of your after market gauges are made to fit a very wide range of cars so you won't have a problem finding one that you like that will work.the one you linked shows it will work up to 300ohms,I've never tried to wire an aftermarket gauge to a factory style cluster wiring.I've wired cars where i wired it myself so I'm afraid I'm not much help other than the gauges come with instructions that tell you what terminal goes to which wire(positive,ground,sender,lighting,etc)it's pretty straight forward though.the included instructions give you an excellent idea of whats involved to make it happen.
Old 02-11-2013, 05:38 PM
camino in progress

Default gas gauge help